I’ll begin by saying that during the past couple of weeks, I’ve been sticking with my new writing plan. I’ve been taking my Netbook with me to work and getting some writing and editing done before I need to punch in for work. I’m also doing more work on my lunch breaks on most days, and I have to say that I think I see a difference in the quality of my work! Writing while I’m still fully awake and alert has definitely boosted my storytelling abilities (even though I don’t enjoy waking up at 6 in the morning.)

At least, I hope. Writers can’t really see the quality of their own work. I’ll be running my edits through some beta readers well before release.

I’m going through what I’ve written for Torn this week and going deeper into the characters and their relationships with each other, something I wasn’t able to do much of in the first book of the Deathwind Trilogy. I now know why Allie and Dorian have that connection, and the reason for it will be revealed in Torn! There will still be plenty of tornado scenes in this book, but the characters will have more room to breathe as well, which is something I’m very excited about.

Walls is almost completed. I’ve rewritten it a couple of times now and I’m drawing close to the end. It’s going to come out somewhere around 7,000 to 8,000 words, which is longer than I expected. Before I release it to you guys as a freebie, I’m going to run it through my critique group one more time and do some more edits to ensure a good read.  Walls doesn’t have anything to do with any of my other stories, and it’s probably the first thing I’ve written in a couple of years that doesn’t involve some kind of natural disaster.

Walls should be out shortly, but I will not set a date. (No more deadlines, remember?)

